JOHNSON TRUCKING COMPANY INC

Boyce, VA · Interstate · 34 power units · Safety rating: Conditional · USDOT since Apr 13, 2000 (26 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing.

  • Conditional FMCSA safety ratingRated Feb 26, 2005. FMCSA found safety controls that needed correcting.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (540) 478-3390 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC397195: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$750,000
Required minimum: $750,000
Cargo cover filed: $5,000
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
0.0%
Only 1 vehicle inspection; too few to compare
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC397195 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$750,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 872809 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. Cargo cover filed: $5,000.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
CargoMC397195—Great West Casualty Co
Policy GWP55482A · BMC-34
$5,000Jun 7, 2008Active
Liability (BI&PD)MC397195PrimaryErie Insurance Exchange
Policy Q071540151 · BMC-91X
$750,000Aug 19, 2025Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

3inspections
0.0%vehicle out-of-service
0 of 1 · Virginia avg 21.3%
33.3%driver out-of-service
1 of 3 · Virginia avg 6.0%
1violations written on inspection reports
3 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Apr 1, 2026VA11Yes
Aug 15, 2025VA30No
May 23, 2025VA30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,578 vehicle and 51,675 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

1 violation counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 1 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareVirginia share
Driver Fitness11100.0%4.8%
1 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Medical (Certificate) - Operating a property-carrying vehicle without a valid medical certificate in possession or on file with the state drivers licensing agency
Medical Certificate · Driver Fitness · code 39141APC
11

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

4crashes
0fatal
1injury
3tow-away
4 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Aug 5, 2026Not Reported, VA00
Dec 15, 2025Not Reported, VA00
Sep 5, 2025Not Reported, VA01
Aug 8, 2025Not Reported, VA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number872809
MC / docketMC397195
Legal nameJOHNSON TRUCKING COMPANY INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units34
Drivers32
Annual mileage1,299,500 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingConditional (Feb 26, 2005)
USDOT number addedApr 13, 2000 · 26 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateJul 8, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightMeatU.S. MailRefrigerated Food

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about JOHNSON TRUCKING COMPANY INC

What does JOHNSON TRUCKING COMPANY INC's operating authority allow?

MC397195: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about JOHNSON TRUCKING COMPANY INC is old or missing?

There are too few vehicle inspections in the last 24 months to judge the out-of-service rate.

What should I verify before booking JOHNSON TRUCKING COMPANY INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 872809. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (540) 478-3390, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC397195, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 03:17 UTC.