ASSOCIATED WHOLESALE GROCERS INC

Kansas City, KS · Interstate · 252 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since Jun 1, 1974 (52 years)

No risk signals in the last-known data

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below. Authority and insurance are last known from May 14, 2026.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (913) 288-1000 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Last known: Active
MC319061: Common carrier active
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$2,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
13.1%
11 of 84 vehicle inspections · Kansas avg 17.5%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Not a live check. FMCSA has not published a Motus record for this carrier, so authority and insurance show the last known status from May 14, 2026. Confirm on Motus ↗ before booking.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC319061 Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026

Common carrier
Common Carrier
Active
Liability insurance on file$2,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Last known status. This authority record comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, the last one published before FMCSA moved registration to Motus. It may have changed since. Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 90053 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC319061PrimaryACE AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
Policy LMT H08247171 · 91X
$2,000,000Aug 19, 2008Active

Source: Last known · FMCSA snapshot May 14, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Last known filings. Insurance for this carrier comes from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026. Policies may have been cancelled or replaced since. Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

227inspections
13.1%vehicle out-of-service
11 of 84 · Kansas avg 17.5%
0.4%driver out-of-service
1 of 227 · Kansas avg 4.0%
76violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 16, 2026NE30No
Oct 13, 2026MO10No
Oct 9, 2026SD30No
Oct 9, 2026NE30No
Oct 6, 2026NE31No
Oct 5, 2026NE30No
Sep 23, 2026IA30No
Sep 21, 2026KS22No
Sep 17, 2026KS10No
Sep 17, 2026IL30No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Kansas average covers 19,627 vehicle and 32,341 driver inspections of all Kansas-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

58 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 15 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 76 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareKansas share
Vehicle Maintenance371463.8%73.3%
Hours-of-Service Compliance11119.0%10.4%
Unsafe Driving10017.2%11.3%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR
66
HOS (Property) - Driving beyond the 14 hour after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty during the current 8 consecutive day period. Date and Tim
Hours · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 3953A2HOSPD
30
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB
30
Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI
22
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
20
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
20
State/Local Laws - Unlawfully parking /leaving vehicle on roadway
Other Driver Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLUP
20
State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2
20
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
20
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Kansas column is the mix across all Kansas-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

18crashes
0fatal
8injury
10tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Oct 2, 2026Non-City Or Unincorporate, MO01
May 25, 2026Kansas City, MO00
Mar 14, 2026Wichita, KS02
Dec 5, 2025Grandview, MO01
Nov 24, 2025Columbus, NE00
Sep 24, 2025Birmingham, IA01
Sep 17, 2025Not Reported, NE01
Aug 15, 2025Not Reported, NE00
Aug 4, 2025Non-City Or Unincorporate, MO00
Jul 9, 2025Not Reported, NE00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number90053
MC / docketMC319061
Legal nameASSOCIATED WHOLESALE GROCERS INC
OperationInterstate
Business typeCorporation
Power units252
Drivers1,422
Annual mileage16,697,934 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Sep 4, 2009)
USDOT number addedJun 1, 1974 · 52 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateApr 22, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightHousehold GoodsFresh ProduceMeatRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper ProductsOtherCharcoal

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about ASSOCIATED WHOLESALE GROCERS INC

What does ASSOCIATED WHOLESALE GROCERS INC's operating authority allow?

MC319061: Common carrier (may haul regulated property for hire for the general public).

Which information about ASSOCIATED WHOLESALE GROCERS INC is old or missing?

Operating authority is the last known status from the FMCSA snapshot of May 14, 2026, not a current check. Insurance filings are from the same May 14, 2026 snapshot.

What should I verify before booking ASSOCIATED WHOLESALE GROCERS INC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 90053. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (913) 288-1000, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC319061, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 07:59 UTC.