HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/936876-dc-trails-inc/ · Checked 2026-10-19 06:26 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 18, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
DC TRAILS INC
Doing business as DC TRAILS
No risk signals found
How risk signals workNothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (703) 360-2800, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC402959.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC402959 | Primary | RLI INSURANCE COMPANY Policy LFB0019631 · BMC-91X | $5,000,000 | Mar 12, 2019 | Active |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC402959 | Excess over $1,000,000 | LEXINGTON INSURANCE COMPANY Policy 038183192 · BMC-91X | $4,000,000 | Mar 12, 2016 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
1 of 214 · Virginia avg 21.3%
0 of 20 · Virginia avg 6.0%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 22, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
| Sep 22, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
| Sep 22, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
| Sep 22, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
| Sep 22, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
| Sep 22, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
| Sep 22, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
| Sep 22, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
| Jul 30, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
| Jul 30, 2026 | VA | 5 | 0 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Virginia average covers 31,514 vehicle and 51,603 driver inspections of all Virginia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
16 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 1 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 17 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Virginia share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 12 | 1 | 75.0% | 67.5% |
| Unsafe Driving | 4 | 0 | 25.0% | 13.5% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 4 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS4 | 2 | 0 |
| Lighting - Clearance lamp(s) inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALCL | 2 | 0 |
| Lighting - License plate lamp inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALLPL | 2 | 0 |
| Lubrication - Oil or grease leak Other Vehicle Defect · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3965BL | 2 | 0 |
| Buses - Required emergency exit not properly marked. (does not convey message) Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39362BENM | 1 | 1 |
| State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD | 1 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 3 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS3 | 1 | 0 |
| Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on truck-tractor manufactured on or after March 1 1997 and each single unit CMV on or after 1998. Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355D1B | 1 | 0 |
| Operating a CMV without documentation of a periodic inspection Inspection Reports · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39617CPI | 1 | 0 |
| Lighting - Stop lamps - Any inoperative. Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLI | 1 | 0 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Virginia column is the mix across all Virginia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
7 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 20, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 |
| Jun 25, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 1 |
| Jun 24, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 1 |
| Apr 13, 2025 | Washington, DC | 0 | 0 |
| Nov 2, 2024 | MD | 0 | 0 |
| Oct 30, 2024 | VA | 0 | 0 |
| Oct 18, 2024 | Washington, DC | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026
| USDOT number | 936876 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC402959 |
| Legal name | DC TRAILS INC |
| DBA name | DC TRAILS |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 66 |
| Drivers | 151 |
| Annual mileage | 20,000 (2026) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Jul 1, 2026) |
| USDOT number added | Mar 1, 2001 · 25 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Jul 22, 2026 |
Cargo carried
Passengers
Questions about DC TRAILS INC
What does DC TRAILS INC's operating authority allow?
MC402959: Passenger carrier (may transport passengers for hire).
Which information about DC TRAILS INC is old or missing?
Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.
What should I verify before booking DC TRAILS INC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 936876. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (703) 360-2800, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC402959, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Other companies using (703) 360-2800
A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.
1 company
| Company | Location | USDOT | Docket | Trucks | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DCT TRUCKING INCORPORATED Carrier |
Lorton, VA | 1430160 | MC540529 | 2 | Active Current · Motus |
Other trucking companies in Lorton, VA →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-19 06:26 UTC.