SOUTHWAY CRANE & RIGGING LLC

Byron, GA · Interstate · 190 power units · Safety rating: Satisfactory · USDOT since May 17, 2001 (25 years)

No risk signals found

How risk signals work

Nothing in the FMCSA record matched our risk signals. That is not a guarantee, and it does not confirm who you are talking to; follow the checks below.

Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (478) 956-1805 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC1673053: Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$5,000,000
Required minimum: $750,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
13.0%
3 of 23 vehicle inspections · Georgia avg 22.6%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC1673053 FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026

Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$5,000,000 (required: $750,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 955010 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC1673053PrimaryNational Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, Pa.
Policy 1811830 · BMC-91X
$5,000,000Feb 18, 2025Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

72inspections
13.0%vehicle out-of-service
3 of 23 · Georgia avg 22.6%
2.8%driver out-of-service
2 of 71 · Georgia avg 7.2%
86violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Sep 29, 2026AL26Yes
Sep 15, 2026MS13No
Aug 20, 2026SC33No
Aug 20, 2026FL30No
Jul 30, 2026GA55No
Jul 22, 2026GA30No
Jul 17, 2026GA31No
Jul 7, 2026AL30No
Jul 1, 2026FL22No
Jun 27, 2026GA31No
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Georgia average covers 65,409 vehicle and 121,643 driver inspections of all Georgia-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

59 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 6 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 86 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceShareGeorgia share
Vehicle Maintenance29449.2%59.3%
Hours-of-Service Compliance15025.4%15.6%
Unsafe Driving12020.3%18.6%
Driver Fitness325.1%5.4%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other
Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD
50
Driver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV
Seat Belt · Unsafe Driving · code 39216D
40
HOS (ELD) - Driver failing to review records and certify the accuracy of the information.
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39530B1ELDDFR
30
Emergency Equipment - Stopped vehicle warning devices missing or improper
Emergency Equipment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39395F
30
Windshield / Windows - Tinting permits less than 70% of light transmittance
Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39360D
30
Washers - Inoperative washing system.
Windshield/ Glass/ Markings · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39378AWS
30
HOS (ELD) - In-Vehicle Information - No user's manual for the driver describing how to operate the ELD. (May be electronic)
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522H1ELDNUM
20
HOS (ELD) Driver failing to have instruction sheet describing the data transfer mechanisms supported by the ELD and step-by-step instructions for the driver to pr
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522H2ELDNISDT
20
HOS (ELD) - In-Vehicle Information - Failing to have an instruction sheet for the driver describing ELD malfunction reporting requirements and recordkeeping proce
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522H3ELDMF
20
HOS (ELD) - In-Vehicle Information - Failing to have a supply of blank driver's records of duty status graph-grids sufficient to record the driver's duty status a
EOBR Related · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39522H4ELDBRODS
20

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Georgia column is the mix across all Georgia-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026

5crashes
1fatal
2injury
2tow-away
5 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Jul 30, 2026Not Reported, GA40
Jul 25, 2026Atlanta, GA00
Nov 5, 2025Not Reported, GA01
Aug 29, 2025Rural St. Clair, AL01
Feb 27, 2025Norcross, GA00

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026

USDOT number955010
MC / docketMC1673053
Legal nameSOUTHWAY CRANE & RIGGING LLC
OperationInterstate
Business typeIndividual
Power units190
Drivers150
Annual mileage3,000,000 (2024)
HazmatNo
Safety ratingSatisfactory (Nov 17, 2017)
USDOT number addedMay 17, 2001 · 25 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateFeb 21, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightMotor VehiclesBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsOilfield EquipmentUtilitiesConstructionOtherCranes

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about SOUTHWAY CRANE & RIGGING LLC

What does SOUTHWAY CRANE & RIGGING LLC's operating authority allow?

MC1673053: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about SOUTHWAY CRANE & RIGGING LLC is old or missing?

Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.

What should I verify before booking SOUTHWAY CRANE & RIGGING LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 955010. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (478) 956-1805, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC1673053, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-19 13:31 UTC.