AMERICAN CARRIER TRANSPORT LLC

Doing business as ACT

Carrier & Broker

Broker & Motor carrier under MC463184

Coraopolis, PA · Interstate · 168 power units · Not rated · USDOT since Jun 23, 2003 (23 years)

Review before booking · 1 signal

How risk signals work

Facts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing.

  • Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average39.4% vs Pennsylvania average 20.9%.
Confirm on Motus ↗ Call (412) 507-3043 Safety: SAFER ↗
Operating authority
Active
MC463184: Broker, Motor carrier active
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Liability insurance (BI&PD)
$1,000,000
Required minimum: $1,000,000
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Broker bond / trust (BMC-84/85)
$75,000
Required: $75,000 · Surety Bond (Merchants National Bonding, Inc.)
FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
Vehicle out-of-service rate
39.4%
41 of 104 vehicle inspections · Pennsylvania avg 20.9%
FMCSA inspections · Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.

Confirm on Motus ↗Call

Operating authority

MC463184 FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026

Broker
Broker of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Motor carrier
Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)
Active
Liability insurance on file$1,000,000 (required: $1,000,000)

Confirm current authority: Motus record for USDOT 1143006 ↗

Insurance on file

Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.

TypeDocketLayerInsurerCoverageEffectiveStatus
Liability (BI&PD)MC463184PrimaryAmerican Inter-Fidelity Exchange
Policy L25A8400 · BMC-91X
$1,000,000Dec 31, 2025Active
Surety BondMC463184—Merchants National Bonding, Inc.
Policy 101527334 · BMC-84
$75,000Dec 2, 2019Active

Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.

Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.

Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

190inspections
39.4%vehicle out-of-service
41 of 104 · Pennsylvania avg 20.9%
1.6%driver out-of-service
3 of 190 · Pennsylvania avg 5.4%
424violations written on inspection reports
10 most recent inspections
DateStateLevelViolationsOut of service
Oct 15, 2026AL30No
Oct 14, 2026KY20No
Oct 9, 2026NJ22Yes
Oct 7, 2026GA31No
Oct 1, 2026AL14Yes
Sep 16, 2026NJ13Yes
Sep 15, 2026PA30No
Sep 10, 2026UT32No
Sep 8, 2026NJ20No
Sep 8, 2026GA215Yes
How these rates are calculated

Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Pennsylvania average covers 99,713 vehicle and 169,210 driver inspections of all Pennsylvania-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗

Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months

317 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 49 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.

Why is this different from the 424 violations above?

The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.

Category (FMCSA BASIC)ViolationsOut of serviceSharePennsylvania share
Vehicle Maintenance2204669.4%67.0%
Hours-of-Service Compliance46114.5%12.1%
Unsafe Driving45014.2%15.1%
Hazardous Materials Compliance401.3%0.7%
Driver Fitness220.6%4.8%
10 most frequent violations
ViolationTimesOut of service
State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation
Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR
170
Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB
140
HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39524
130
Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS
Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL
1010
Lighting - Stop lamps - Any inoperative.
Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLI
71
HOS (ELD) - Driver failing to review records and certify the accuracy of the information.
Other Log/Form & Manner · Hours-of-Service Compliance · code 39530B1ELDDFR
70
Air Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345B2BAIR
60
Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on truck-tractor manufactured on or after March 1 1997 and each single unit CMV on or after 1998.
Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355D1B
60
Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt
Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E
60
Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative
Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL
60

Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Pennsylvania column is the mix across all Pennsylvania-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.

Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026

17crashes
0fatal
6injury
11tow-away
10 most recent crashes
DateLocationFatalitiesInjuries
Sep 8, 2026Not Reported, GA00
Sep 4, 2026Not Reported, GA00
Jul 13, 2026Draper, UT00
May 12, 2026Garden City, GA00
Feb 27, 2026Crestwood, IL01
Feb 3, 2026Hillside, NJ01
Sep 9, 2025Suwannee, FL03
Aug 11, 2025Dothan, AL01
Aug 5, 2025Atlanta, GA00
Jul 30, 2025Atlanta, GA01

Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.

Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026

USDOT number1143006
MC / docketMC463184
Legal nameAMERICAN CARRIER TRANSPORT LLC
DBA nameACT
OperationInterstate
Business type—
Power units168
Drivers168
Annual mileage3,529,199 (2023)
HazmatYes
Safety ratingNot rated (no compliance review on record)
USDOT number addedJun 23, 2003 · 23 years ago
Last MCS-150 updateOct 1, 2025

Cargo carried

General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsFresh ProduceLiquids/GasesIntermodal ContainersMeatChemicalsRefrigerated FoodBeveragesPaper ProductsConstruction

Change history

No changes to name, contact details, authority or insurance since we started tracking on Oct 18, 2026. We compare every company's FMCSA record each day.

to see it on your watchlist when something changes.

Questions about AMERICAN CARRIER TRANSPORT LLC

Is AMERICAN CARRIER TRANSPORT LLC a broker or a carrier?

Both. AMERICAN CARRIER TRANSPORT LLC holds active broker authority and active authority to haul freight. Check which role it is acting in on your load: as a broker it arranges another carrier; as a carrier it hauls with its own trucks.

What does AMERICAN CARRIER TRANSPORT LLC's operating authority allow?

MC463184: Broker (may arrange transportation by other authorized carriers, but may not haul the freight itself under this authority); Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).

Which information about AMERICAN CARRIER TRANSPORT LLC is old or missing?

FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.

What should I verify before booking AMERICAN CARRIER TRANSPORT LLC?

Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 1143006. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (412) 507-3043, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC463184, and ask for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load; if it brokers your load, ask for proof of its BMC-84/85 bond or trust instead.

Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).

Page generated 2026-10-20 05:03 UTC.