HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/1243338-ps-transportation-llc/ · Checked 2026-10-19 06:35 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 18, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026
P&S TRANSPORTATION LLC
Doing business as P&S TRANSPORTATION
Review before booking · 1 signal
How risk signals workFacts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing.
- Phone number shared with 10 other companiesNormal for dispatch services and related companies, but confirm who you are talking to.
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (205) 788-4000, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC488790.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC488790 | Primary | P & S RISK RETENTION GROUP, INC. Policy RRG488790-19 · BMC-91X | $1,000,000 | Jun 1, 2019 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 18, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
675 of 2,037 · Alabama avg 25.6%
23 of 3,813 · Alabama avg 4.1%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 15, 2026 | NC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 15, 2026 | NC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 15, 2026 | NC | 2 | 0 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | AR | 1 | 1 | Yes |
| Oct 14, 2026 | MO | 2 | 1 | No |
| Oct 14, 2026 | AL | 3 | 1 | No |
| Oct 13, 2026 | IA | 2 | 5 | Yes |
| Oct 13, 2026 | NC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 13, 2026 | SC | 3 | 0 | No |
| Oct 13, 2026 | TX | 2 | 0 | No |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Alabama average covers 33,241 vehicle and 59,582 driver inspections of all Alabama-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
2,550 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 830 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 3,290 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Alabama share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 1,995 | 807 | 78.2% | 72.6% |
| Unsafe Driving | 352 | 0 | 13.8% | 12.8% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 180 | 4 | 7.1% | 10.2% |
| Driver Fitness | 16 | 12 | 0.6% | 3.5% |
| Controlled Substances/Alcohol | 7 | 7 | 0.3% | 0.3% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 196 | 194 |
| Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E | 119 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other Dangerous Driving · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLTCD | 68 | 0 |
| Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB | 66 | 0 |
| Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB | 62 | 0 |
| State/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation Misc Violations · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLLR | 58 | 0 |
| Tire-flat and/or audible air leak Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3 | 50 | 50 |
| State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit Speeding 2 · Unsafe Driving · code 3922SLLS2 | 47 | 0 |
| Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR | 46 | 46 |
| Air Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 1998 Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39355EB | 46 | 0 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 18, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Alabama column is the mix across all Alabama-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 18, 2024 – Oct 18, 2026
10 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 18, 2026 | Goldsboro, NC | 0 | 0 |
| Sep 17, 2026 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Sep 10, 2026 | Irving, TX | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 29, 2026 | Memphis, IN | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 18, 2026 | South Plainfield, NJ | 0 | 1 |
| Aug 6, 2026 | Rural, LA | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 3, 2026 | Harker Heights, TX | 0 | 0 |
| Aug 1, 2026 | Franklin (Johnson), IN | 0 | 0 |
| Jul 31, 2026 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 |
| Jul 30, 2026 | Phoenix, AZ | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 18, 2026
| USDOT number | 1243338 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC488790 |
| Legal name | P&S TRANSPORTATION LLC |
| DBA name | P&S TRANSPORTATION |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | — |
| Power units | 2,303 |
| Drivers | 2,320 |
| Annual mileage | 184,000,000 (2026) |
| Hazmat | No |
| Safety rating | Not rated (no compliance review on record) |
| USDOT number added | May 3, 2004 · 22 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Aug 18, 2026 |
Cargo carried
General FreightMetal: Sheets, Coils, RollsMotor VehiclesLogs, Poles, Beams, LumberBuilding MaterialsMachinery, Large ObjectsOilfield EquipmentGrain, Feed, HayPaper ProductsConstructionOtherPipe, Metal Coils, Automotive Parts
Questions about P&S TRANSPORTATION LLC
What does P&S TRANSPORTATION LLC's operating authority allow?
MC488790: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).
Which information about P&S TRANSPORTATION LLC is old or missing?
FMCSA has not issued a safety rating, which means no compliance review is on record, not that the carrier is unsafe.
What should I verify before booking P&S TRANSPORTATION LLC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 1243338. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (205) 788-4000, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC488790, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Other companies using (205) 788-4000
A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.
10 companies
| Company | Location | USDOT | Docket | Trucks | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DMT TRUCKING LLC Carrier · DBA DMT |
Birmingham, AL | 795982 | MC354511 | 604 | Active Last known · May 14, 2026 |
| SOUTHEAST LOGISTICS & TRANSPORT LLC Carrier & broker · DBA SEL TRANSPORTATION |
Tuscaloosa, AL | 759891 | MC342627 | 404 | Active Last known · May 14, 2026 |
| HS EXPRESS LLC Carrier & broker |
Birmingham, AL | 2827997 | MC944349 | 164 | Active Current · Motus |
| MTB TRANSPORT LLC Carrier & broker · DBA MTB |
Birmingham, AL | 2393384 | MC822768 | 70 | Active Current · Motus |
| RED MOUNTAIN TRANSPORTATION LLC Carrier · DBA RED MOUNTAIN TRANSPORTATION |
Birmingham, AL | 2554088 | MC890197 | 25 | Inactive Last known · May 14, 2026 |
| DT FREIGHT LLC Carrier & broker · DBA PIONEER TRANSPORTATION |
Birmingham, AL | 2557590 | MC891947 | 1 | Active Current · Motus |
| BLAIR LEASING & FINANCE LLC Carrier |
Birmingham, AL | 3347870 | MC1284159 | 1 | Active Current · Motus |
| BLAIR LOGISTICS LLC Broker |
Birmingham, AL | 2244525 | MC680287 | — | Active Last known · May 14, 2026 |
| TA DISPATCH LLC Broker · DBA TA MANAGED TRANSPORTATION |
Birmingham, AL | 2245515 | MC694791 | — | Active Last known · May 14, 2026 |
| P&S TRANSPORTATION LLC Broker |
Birmingham, AL | 2247395 | MC723372 | — | Active Last known · May 14, 2026 |
Other trucking companies in Birmingham, AL →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 18, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-19 06:35 UTC.