HaulerCheck · https://haulercheck.com/carrier/215194-cowan-intermodal-group-llc/ · Checked 2026-10-19 23:45 UTC · Census and inspections Oct 19, 2026 · Authority and insurance: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026
COWAN INTERMODAL GROUP LLC
Review before booking · 2 signals
How risk signals workFacts from the FMCSA record that call for a closer look. They are not a finding of wrongdoing.
- Phone number shared with 4 other companiesNormal for dispatch services and related companies, but confirm who you are talking to.
- Vehicle out-of-service rate well above the state average31.7% vs Maryland average 20.8%.
No cargo cover filed with FMCSA
Green means the FMCSA record shows it. It does not confirm who you are talking to, or that a policy covers your specific load.
What to verify next
- Confirm authority and insurance on the official Motus record ↗. Safety record: SAFER ↗.
- Call back on the number on file, (410) 247-0800, not a number from an email or load board.
- Check that the MC number you were given is MC155424.
- Ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Insurance on file
Liability (BI&PD) pays for injury and damage to other people and property; it does not cover the freight. Cargo insurance covers the freight. FMCSA only requires cargo filings from household goods carriers and freight forwarders, so most carriers file none: ask for a cargo certificate that fits your load. No cargo cover filed with FMCSA.
| Type | Docket | Layer | Insurer | Coverage | Effective | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC155424 | — | General Insurance Company of America Policy 5776819 · BMC-82 | $75,000 | Nov 1, 2025 | Active |
| Liability (BI&PD) | MC155424 | — | General Insurance Company of America Policy 5776819 · BMC-82 | $1,000,000 | Nov 1, 2025 | Active |
Source: FMCSA Motus · Oct 19, 2026. Identical filings repeated in the FMCSA data are shown once; a filing listed under two dockets is one policy, not extra coverage. Coverage is the maximum amount filed with FMCSA, not the full policy.
Confirm current filings: Motus record ↗ and ask the insurer for a certificate naming you as holder.
Roadside inspections Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
64 of 202 · Maryland avg 20.8%
4 of 258 · Maryland avg 9.4%
10 most recent inspections
| Date | State | Level | Violations | Out of service |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 3, 2026 | KS | 3 | 0 | No |
| Sep 3, 2026 | KS | 3 | 1 | No |
| Aug 19, 2026 | MO | 2 | 0 | No |
| Aug 3, 2026 | PA | 3 | 1 | No |
| Jul 29, 2026 | MO | 2 | 1 | No |
| Jul 15, 2026 | FL | 3 | 0 | No |
| Jun 27, 2026 | KS | 2 | 0 | No |
| Jun 26, 2026 | KS | 2 | 1 | No |
| Jun 16, 2026 | FL | 2 | 1 | No |
| Jun 16, 2026 | MD | 1 | 3 | Yes |
How these rates are calculated
Period: Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026. Vehicle rate = vehicle inspections with a vehicle out-of-service order ÷ vehicle inspections (levels 1, 2, 5 and 6). Driver rate uses levels 1, 2, 3 and 6. The Maryland average covers 42,361 vehicle and 51,705 driver inspections of all Maryland-based carriers in this period. It mixes every type of operation, so compare with care; rates based on a handful of inspections say little. FMCSA's own SMS measures are weighted differently: SMS profile ↗ · SAFER snapshot ↗
Violations in FMCSA's SMS last 24 months
340 violations counted in FMCSA's Safety Measurement System (SMS), 94 of them serious enough to put the driver or vehicle out of service.
Why is this different from the 404 violations above?
The inspections section's number counts every violation written on the inspection reports in our Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026 window. The SMS count comes from FMCSA's own monthly SMS snapshot, which uses its own 24-month window and only the violations it scores. Both are FMCSA figures; they measure different things.
| Category (FMCSA BASIC) | Violations | Out of service | Share | Maryland share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance | 278 | 89 | 81.8% | 71.4% |
| Unsafe Driving | 28 | 0 | 8.2% | 10.9% |
| Hours-of-Service Compliance | 21 | 0 | 6.2% | 10.3% |
| Hazardous Materials Compliance | 7 | 0 | 2.1% | 0.3% |
| Driver Fitness | 6 | 5 | 1.8% | 6.6% |
10 most frequent violations
| Violation | Times | Out of service |
|---|---|---|
| Air Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39345DB | 19 | 0 |
| Tires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS Tires · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39375A3TAOL | 17 | 17 |
| Brake Out of Adjustment - Roto Clamp (Short & Long) DD-3 or Bolt Brakes Out of Adjustment · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39347E | 17 | 0 |
| Air Brake - CMV manufactured on or after 10/20/1994 has an automatic airbrake adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear Brakes All Others · Vehicle Maintenance · code 39353BB | 14 | 0 |
| Lighting - Stop lamps - Both inoperative when required to be on Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALSLIWR | 12 | 12 |
| Lubrication - Oil or grease leak Other Vehicle Defect · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3965BL | 10 | 0 |
| Lighting - Turn signal - Any inoperative on the rearmost vehicle. Lighting · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALTSI | 9 | 9 |
| Brake - Defective brake(s) are equal to or greater than 20% of the service brakes on the vehicle/combination Brake Out Of Service · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3963A1BOS | 8 | 8 |
| Lighting - Identification lamp(s) inoperative Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939ALIL | 7 | 0 |
| Inoperable Required Lamp Clearance Identification Lamps/Other · Vehicle Maintenance · code 3939 | 6 | 2 |
Source: FMCSA SMS violation file, inspections in the last 24 months, published Oct 19, 2026. "Share" is this company's mix of violations; the Maryland column is the mix across all Maryland-based carriers, so you can see which kinds of problems stand out. A high count partly reflects fleet size and how often trucks are inspected.
Crashes Oct 19, 2024 – Oct 19, 2026
10 most recent crashes
| Date | Location | Fatalities | Injuries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 15, 2026 | Cromwell, CT | 0 | 1 |
| May 1, 2026 | Cocoa, FL | 0 | 0 |
| Apr 23, 2026 | Shrewsbury Township, PA | 0 | 0 |
| Nov 24, 2025 | Minden, LA | 0 | 1 |
| Oct 12, 2025 | Southington, CT | 0 | 1 |
| Sep 12, 2025 | China Grove, NC | 0 | 1 |
| Jun 17, 2025 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 0 |
| Apr 8, 2025 | Rush Township, PA | 0 | 0 |
| Feb 20, 2025 | Not Reported, GA | 1 | 1 |
| Jan 20, 2025 | MD | 0 | 0 |
Reportable crashes do not imply the carrier was at fault.
Company details FMCSA census · Oct 19, 2026
| USDOT number | 215194 |
|---|---|
| MC / docket | MC155424 |
| Legal name | COWAN INTERMODAL GROUP LLC |
| Operation | Interstate |
| Business type | Corporation |
| Power units | 239 |
| Drivers | 226 |
| Annual mileage | 12,712,034 (2024) |
| Hazmat | Yes |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory (Mar 11, 2010) |
| USDOT number added | Jun 24, 1982 · 44 years ago |
| Last MCS-150 update | Apr 28, 2026 |
Cargo carried
General FreightHousehold GoodsMotor VehiclesMachinery, Large ObjectsIntermodal ContainersBeverages
Change history since Oct 18, 2026
4 changes
| Date | What changed | Before | After |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 19, 2026 | Insurance filing | — | Liability (BI&PD) General Insurance Company of America 75000 |
| Oct 19, 2026 | Insurance filing | — | Liability (BI&PD) General Insurance Company of America 1000000 |
| Oct 19, 2026 | Insurance filing | Surety Bond General Insurance Company of America 75000 | No longer on file |
| Oct 19, 2026 | Insurance filing | Surety Bond General Insurance Company of America 1000000 | No longer on file |
Changes we detected between daily FMCSA data refreshes.
Questions about COWAN INTERMODAL GROUP LLC
What does COWAN INTERMODAL GROUP LLC's operating authority allow?
MC155424: Motor carrier (may haul regulated property for hire).
Which information about COWAN INTERMODAL GROUP LLC is old or missing?
Nothing notable: authority and insurance come from current Motus data and there is enough inspection history to compare.
What should I verify before booking COWAN INTERMODAL GROUP LLC?
Confirm the authority and insurance on the Motus record for USDOT 215194. Call the company back on the phone number on file, (410) 247-0800, not a number from an email or load board message. Check that the MC number the dispatcher gave you matches MC155424, and ask the insurer for a certificate of insurance naming you as holder, with cargo coverage that fits your load.
Other companies using (410) 247-0800
A shared number is common for related companies, dispatch services and family businesses. It is not proof of fraud, but it is worth knowing which company you are dealing with.
4 companies
| Company | Location | USDOT | Docket | Trucks | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| COWAN SYSTEMS LLC Review Carrier & broker |
Halethorpe, MD | 548880 | MC271882 | 1,882 | Active Current · Motus |
| COWAN TRANSPORT SERVICES LLC Review Carrier |
Halethorpe, MD | 917652 | MC396918 | 77 | Active Current · Motus |
| COWAN SYSTEMS LLC High risk Carrier |
Halethorpe, MD | 2217118 | MC285256 | 0 | Inactive Last known · May 14, 2026 |
| COWAN SYSTEMS TRANSPORTATION LLC High risk Carrier |
Halethorpe, MD | 2235345 | MC542448 | 0 | Inactive Last known · May 14, 2026 |
Other trucking companies in Halethorpe, MD →
Company details from the FMCSA Company Census File (Oct 19, 2026). Inspections and crashes from FMCSA MCMIS files. About our data · Report an error on this page (how corrections work).
Page generated 2026-10-19 23:45 UTC.